This is the documentation for Tempo Timesheets Latest and is a work in progress.
Please view the Tempo Timesheets 7.8 Documentation for latest release or the Documentation Dashboard for older version of Tempo Timesheets.

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata
Icon

The perspective role: JIRA Administrators

This is a child page of Global Configuration, explaining the Time Tracking Permissions and Validation options.

Screenshot: The Time Tracking Permissions and Validation options in Global Configuration


Table: Time Tracking Permissions and Validation explained

OptionDefaultDescription
User with Approve Timesheet Permission can log work for team membersNoIf enabled users with the Approve Timesheet permission, can log work and edit hours for all their team members.
User can not log work on parent issuesNo

If enabled an error message is displayed (in the log work dialog) when any Tempo user tries to submit a work-log for an JIRA issue with sub-tasks.

Log work with start timeNo

If enabled any Tempo user can set start time when logging work. Note! A useful reading on the difference between my JIRA worklog and my Tempo worklog.

Remaining estimate is optionalNo

If enabled and an issue has no Original estimate, the Remaining estimate is not calculated in the time-tracking entry. Again if enabled and an issue has Original estimate, the Remaining estimate is reduced by the time spent until the value 0 is reached. The Remaining estimate can not be a negative number, but if it has reached 0, the user can add Remaining estimate.

Worklog description is optionalNo

If enabled and no text is written in a Log Work Description field, a default text Working on Issue $key is added. As with any text in the Log Work Description, the default text can still be edited.

Allow logging on closed accountsYes

If disabled it is not possible to log work on an issue that has an account in closed status.

Allow logging on not editable issuesYes

If disabled and the jira.issue.editable property is set to false in the JIRA workflow status, any Tempo user can not log work.

(info)  This property is false by default in the JIRA workflow for issues in Closed status.
(warning)  If enabled the worklow status must have a transition to Reopened status as in the JIRA default worklow. The user must also have a permission to execute the Reopen transition.
The workflow transitions can be hidden by using the Hide Transition option in the JIRA Misc Workflow Extensions plugin, if you don´t want users to reopen issues.
(tick) There is also an option to use the jira.permission.work.denied property as documented on this page

Allow team members to see account detailsYesIf disabled Team Members can not see the Account pages, given the Account Manager is activated.
Max hours per day per userUnlimited

If a limited value is selected from the drop-down list, the lowest value is set as the Hours per day in JIRA Time Tracking settings and the highest value ends in 24 Hours. The values increment by one hour from the lowest to the highest.

Users allowed to register time into future90 DaysOther options, rage from 0 Days to 360 Days. 0 Days means the user can not log work for Tomorrow. 360 Days means that the user can not log work on a date that is over a year from current date.
Project role to view other usersNo Role SetIf a role is set (determined by JIRA Project Roles), they can be used to control what any Tempo user sees when looking at Timesheets in the Project view (Tempo (top navigation bar) > Timesheeets > Project). See the Project Role to View Other Users page for more detailed information.