To access the Tempo Scheduler do the following:
- Log in as a user with the JIRA Administrators Global Permission.
- JIRA 6: Select Add-ons from the Administration menu (cog icon: ) at the top right of your screen. Then scroll down to Tempo Timesheets administration left tabs and choose the Scheduler option.
JIRA 5: Select Administration at the top right of your screen. Then choose Plugins (top navigation bar) > Tempo (Time Tracking) > Scheduler (left tabs).
Tip: Use Keyboard Shortcut instead: g then g and start typing Scheduler.
When the Scheduler is used to schedule a closure, users are blocked to add and edit worklogs within an Open Period after the closing date. In order to be able to add and edit to those worklogs after the closing date, they will have to ask the user with the Approve Timesheet permission for their team to give a short Grace Period to reopen the access. An overview of a Scheduler configured for a weekly closure can be seen in the screenshot below.
Screenshot: An overview of a Scheduler configured for a weekly closure (click to enlarge)
The green ticked icon shows active items, but inactive items would be shown with a red minus icon.
In the Operations line, click the Edit link to adjust settings for the Scheduler. The edit mode for the Scheduler is opened and looks like in the screenshot below. The items from both screenshots are explained in the table below.
Screenshot: The Edit Scheduler screen (click to enlarge)
Table: Items from the screenshots above explained
|Name||The name of the scheduled closure configuration.|
Three types can be chosen from a drop-down, e.g. Weekly, Biweekly or Period.
In the edit mode you choose which day of the week to repeat the scheduled closure on. The Status Reminder will show the next scheduled end date, given the type and repeat date chosen. This becomes the date when an email is sent about Status reminder for all users.
The reminder emails can be edited by clicking the icon at the end of the line, that opens the Scheduler E-mail Template screen.
The Late Reminder is calculated from two items in the edit mode, Close [ ] working days after end date and Send email to late users [ ] hours before closure. The box for sending Status reminder for later users needs to be ticked to activate the Late Reminder.
If the closing should happen 2 days after end date, but the email is sent 12 hours before closure, the Later Reminder happens 1.5 days after the end date (as in the screenshots above). If the closing and end dates are the same (0 working days after end date) and the email will be sent 12 hours before closure, e.g. it will be sent 12 hours before the closing/end date.
|Active||If a green ticked icon is shown in the Scheduler Settings overview, the Activate This Scheduler box has been ticked in the edit mode.|
|Last Close||Gives the last closing date, based on the number given in Close [ ] working days after end date and the Type chosen.|
|Next Close||Gives the next closing date, based on the number given in Close [ ] working days after end date and the Type chosen.|
|Operations||Edit link to open the edit mode.|
A different Time Zone setting for the current user in her/his JIRA User Profile, will be displayed additionally in the Scheduler Settings.
Screenshot: A different Time Zone in the JIRA User Profile
Screenshot: Current Scheduler Settings, displaying also the different Time Zone in the brackets
In the first screenshot above, three links are shown:
- Disable Tempo Scheduler - displays the following screen:
- Test Scheduler Email
- List Users that Receive Email from Scheduler - displays a list of user receiving email from the scheduler
Scheduled Reminders differ from Scheduled Closures, in that they are just reminders and there is no closing date. This means that when editing the Scheduler, the box Make Scheduler Close stays unchecked - see screenshots below.
Screenshot: Current Scheduler Settings for Scheduled Reminders - Last and Next Close are not listed
Screenshot: Edit Scheduler page with Make Scheduler Close is unchecked (click to enlarge)
Note that Send email to late users [ ], changes from hours before closure to hours after end date.